end of year charts (part 1)

STUART SOUTER (blackmaps)

1. Tortoise                             “Beacons of Ancestorship”               (Thrill Jockey)

2. Animal Collective           “Merriweather Post Pavilion”           (Domino)

3. Jim O’Rourke                   “The Visitor”                                         (Drag City)

4. Aaron Martin:                   “Chautauqua”                                  (Preservation)

5. James Blackshaw           “The Glass Bead Game”                   (Young God)

6. Oneida                              “Rated O”                                (Secretly Canadian)

7. Clues                                 “Clues”                                                 (Constellation)

8. Emeralds                          “What Happened”                                    (No Fun)

9. Monolake                          “Silence”                                              (Imbalance)

10. Tim Hecker:                    “An Imaginary Country”                     (Kranky)

11. Mountains                      “Choral”                                                (Thrill Jockey)

12. Zomes                             “Zomes”                                              (Holy Mountain)

13. Leyland Kirby      “Sadly, The Future is No Longer What it Was”                                                                                         (History Always Favors the Winners)

14. Moritz Von Oswald Trio           “Vertical Ascent”                (Honest Jons)

15. Concern                         “Truth And Distance”                       (Digitalis)

16. Anti Pop Consortium   “Fluorescent Black”                          (Big Dada)

17. Black To Comm             “Alphabet 1968”                                (Type)

18. Fires                                “Le Lendemain”                                (Home Normal)

19. Danny Norbury              “Light In August”                              (Lacies)

20. Dem Dike Stare             “Symbiosis”                                         (Modern Love)

21. Risil                                 “Non Meters Vol 1”                             (Important)

22. Shackleton                     “Three Eps”                                           (Perlon)

23. Elegi                                “Varde”                                                   (Miasmah)

24. Martyn                             “Great Lengths”                                 (3024)

25. Gregg Kowalsky            “Tape Chants”                                     (Kranky)

MATTHEW NICHOLSON (Function Ensemble)



– Grizzly Bear                        “Veckatimest”                                   (Warp)

– Fennesz                                “Black Sea”                                        (Touch)

– James Blackshaw              “The Glass Bead Game”                (Young God)

– John Hassell                      “Power Spot / Dream Theory in Malaya” (ECM)

– Animal Collective              “Merriweather Post Pavilion”        (Domino)

– Pascal Babare                    “Thunderclap Spring”                     (blackmaps)

– Robert Wyatt                      All

– Tim Hecker                         All

– Efterklang                           “Parades”                                            (Leaf)

– Autistic Daughters             “Uneasy Flowers                             (Kranky)

MX (blackmaps)

– Richard Skelton                 “Landings”                                          (Type)

– Mt. Kimbie                           “Maybes / Sketch on Glass Eps”    (Hotflush)

– Animal Collective              “Merriweather Post Pavillion”       (Domino)

– Arve Henrikson                  “Cartography”                                    (ECM)

– Moritz Van Ozwald Trio    “Vertical Ascent”                             (Honest Jons)

– Ben Frost                            “By the Throat”                     (Bedroom Community)

– Monolake                            “Silence”                                             (Imbalance)

– Martyn                                 “Great Lenghts”                                 (3024)

– Leyland Kirby                     Sadly, The Future is No Longer What it Was                                                                             (History Always Favors the Winners)

– Danny Norbury                  “Light in August”                              (Lacies)

JONATHAN ORR (St. Just Vigilantes)


– James Blackshaw                         “The Glass Bead Game”                (Young God)

– Black To Comm                          “Alphabet 1968”                              (Type)

– SUNN O)))                                   “Monoliths And Dimensions”     (Southern Lord)

– Oneohtrix Point Never               “Russian Mind”                              (No Fun Productions)

– Shackleton                                     “Three Eps”                                      (Perlon)

– Emeralds                                      “What Happened”                            (No Fun)

– Tim Hecker                                “An Imaginary Country”                  (Kranky)

– Ophibre –                                    “Appraoching The Ionized Peizo Kiosk”             (Earjerk)

– Sun Araw                                   “Heavy Deeds”                                 (Not Not Fun)

– Bibio                                            “Ambivalence Avenue”                   (Warp)

TONY F WILSON (Knives of Resistance/Zurich/Spykid)



– Colouring of Pigeons               “The Knife/Mt. Sims/Planning to Rock”              (Rabid)

– Death in June                            “Giddy Edge of Light“                        (Soleilmoon)

– Oneohtrix Point Never            “Physical Memory”                                     (No Fun)

– Cold Cave                                     “Heaven Was Full”                                     (Matador)

– Neil Young                                   “Don’t Let it Bring You Down”                (Reprise)

– Alexander Tucker & Decompossed Orchestra             “Grey Onion“     (Latitudes)

– Eleh                                                        “Slow Fade for Hard Sync”             (Touch)

– Davey Graham & Shirley Collins            “Dearest Dear”                         (Decca)

– Gatekeeper                                            “Blip”                                                 (If Symptoms Persist)

– F                                                           “Epilogue”                                                 (7even)


About this entry